Compare the best products from Amazon in the easiest way

Tips on how to Watch NASA’s Asteroid Explorer Lucy Launch This Week


This week, NASA will likely be launching its latest explorer: Lucy, a spacecraft that will likely be touring to the asteroids close to Jupiter to find out about how the photo voltaic system shaped. Lucy will launch early within the morning on Saturday, October 16 on a United Launch Alliance Atlas V 401 rocket from Area Launch Complicated 41 at Cape Canaveral Area Power Station in Florida, and we’ve obtained the small print on how one can watch the launch reside.

What Lucy will likely be exploring

Artist’s illustration of the Lucy concept.
Artist’s illustration of the Lucy idea. Southwest Analysis Institute

Lucy will likely be heading out into the photo voltaic system to go to the Trojans, a bunch of asteroids within the orbit of Jupiter. These are believed to be leftovers from the formation of the outer planets, from a interval greater than 4 billion years in the past.

“Over its 12-year main mission, Lucy will discover a record-breaking variety of asteroids,” NASA writes. “The spacecraft will fly by one asteroid within the photo voltaic system’s predominant belt and 7 Trojan asteroids. Lucy’s path will circle again to Earth 3 times for gravity assists, which is able to make it the primary spacecraft ever to return to our planet’s neighborhood from the outer photo voltaic system.”

To study extra about Lucy’s targets, we spoke to the mission’s principal investigator, Hal Levison, about the way it might unravel the mysteries of the photo voltaic system’s formation.

Tips on how to watch the launch

NASA will likely be livestreaming the launch of Lucy, in addition to a wide range of prelaunch actions like getting ready for liftoff and commentary from specialists. You’ll be able to watch on-line both utilizing the video embedded on the prime of this web page or by heading to NASA’s web site.

The protection of the launch will start at 5 a.m. ET (2 a.m. PT) on Saturday, October 16. The launch itself is scheduled for five:34 a.m. ET (2:34 a.m. PT).

If you wish to study extra in regards to the mission, there are two days of briefings and data that will likely be proven earlier than the launch. On Thursday, October 14 there will likely be a reside Lucy Rollout Present at 10 a.m. ET (7 a.m. PT) following by a science briefing at 1 p.m. ET (10 a.m. PT) with the researchers who will likely be working with the Lucy knowledge, adopted by an engineering briefing at 3 p.m. ET (12 p.m. PT) with the engineers who constructed the spacecraft.

On Friday, October 15 you’ll be able to hear from NASA scientists in regards to the mission in a briefing scheduled for 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT).

Editors’ Suggestions






We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Translate »
The Regular Person
Logo
Enable registration in settings - general
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Compare
0
Shopping cart